TO RECEIVE THE REPORT OF THE RETURNING OFFICER AS TO THE PERSONS ELECTED TO SERVE AS DISTRICT COUNCILLORS FOR THE DISTRICT OF MID SUSSEX ON 5TH MAY 2023

REPORT OF: Kathryn Hall, Returning Officer

Contact Officer: Kevin Toogood Assistant Director, Legal and Democratic

Services (Monitoring Officer) Email:

kevin.toogood@midsussex.gov.uk, Tel: 01444 477050

Wards Affected: All Key Decision No

Report to: Annual Council

24th May 2023

Summary

1. On Thursday 4 May 2023 Mid Sussex District Council held elections for all 48 seats on the Council, the results of which were declared on Friday 5 May 2023.

2. In accordance with the Local Government Act 1972, the Chief Executive as Returning Officer for the election of Councillors for Mid Sussex District Council has returned the names of the persons who were, on 5 May 2023, duly elected as Councillors in the wards as set out in Appendix A.

Recommendation

3. Council is recommended to note the persons elected as Councillors on 5 May 2023 as set out at Appendix A.

Appendices

 Appendix A – Report of the Returning Officer: Results of Local Elections 4 May 2023

Background Papers

None associated with this report.

Appendix A

Report of the Returning Officer: Results of Local Elections 4 May 2023

WARD	PERSONS ELECTED	PARTY/GROUP	YEAR OF RETIREMENT
Ardingly, Balcombe & Turners Hill	Jenny Edwards	Green	May 2027
Ardingly, Balcombe & Turners Hill	Gary Marsh	Conservative	May 2027
Ashurst Wood & East Grinstead South	John Belsey	Conservative	May 2027
Burgess Hill Dunstall	Mike Kennedy	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Burgess Hill Dunstall	Mustak Miah	Conservative	May 2027
Burgess Hill Franklands	David Eggleton	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Burgess Hill Franklands	Janice Henwood	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Burgess Hill Leylands	Simon Hicks	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Burgess Hill Leylands	Anne Eves	Green	May 2027
Burgess Hill Meeds & Hammonds	Robert Eggleston	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Burgess Hill Meeds & Hammonds	Tofojjul Hussain	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Burgess Hill St. Andrews	Christine Cherry	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Burgess Hill St. Andrews	Matthew Cornish	Green	May 2027
Burgess Hill Victoria	Peter Chapman	Independent	May 2027
Copthorne and Worth	Graham Casella	Conservative	May 2027
Copthorne and Worth	Christopher Phillips	Independent	May 2027
Crawley Down	John Hitchcock	Independent	May 2027
Crawley Down	Ian Gibson	Independent	May 2027
Cuckfield, Bolney & Ansty	Malcolm Avery	Conservative	May 2027
Cuckfield, Bolney & Ansty	Jim Knight	Conservative	May 2027
Downland Villages	Geoff Zeidler	Conservative	May 2027
East Grinstead Ashplats	Margaret Belsey	Conservative	May 2027
East Grinstead Ashplats	Adam Peacock	Conservative	May 2027

WARD	PERSONS ELECTED	PARTY/GROUP	YEAR OF RETIREMENT
East Grinstead Baldwins	Julie Mockford	Independent	May 2027
East Grinstead Herontye	Dick Sweatman	Conservative	May 2027
East Grinstead Imberhorne	Lee Farren	Conservative	May 2027
East Grinstead Imberhorne	Rex Whittaker	Conservative	May 2027
East Grinstead Town	Jacquie Russell	Conservative	May 2027
East Grinstead Town	John Dabell	Conservative	May 2027
Handcross & Pease Pottage	Eric Prescott	Conservative	May 2027
Hassocks	Sue Hatton	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Hassocks	Kristian Bergreen	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Hassocks	Christopher Hobbs	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Haywards Heath Ashenground	Duncan Pascoe	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Haywards Heath Ashenground	Richard Bates	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Haywards Heath Bentswood & Heath	Anthony Platts	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Haywards Heath Bentswood & Heath	Alison Rees	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Haywards Heath Franklands	Rod Clarke	Conservative	May 2027
Haywards Heath Franklands	Paul Kenny	Labour	May 2027
Haywards Heath Lucastes & Bolnore	Abdul Bashar	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Haywards Heath Lucastes & Bolnore	Paul Lucraft	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Haywards Heath North	Sandy Ellis	Conservative	May 2027
Hurstpierpoint	Alison Bennett	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Hurstpierpoint	Rodney Jackson	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Lindfield	Anne-Marie Cooke	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Lindfield	Cavan Wood	Liberal Democrat	May 2027
Lindfield Rural & High Weald	Paul Brown	Green	May 2027
Lindfield Rural & High Weald	Lorraine Carvalho	Conservative	May 2027